Humbling Hamburg

Unfortunately I happened to get a bit I’ll on my visit to Hamburg Germany, so I didn’t get to explore as much as I hoped. However here is a recount of what I did see and do while there.

Hamburg has a large community of Portuguese living and working in the city. I have an endless love affair with food. So when I heard they have some of the best Pasteis de Nata outside of Portugal, I had to go try it. I was not disappointed. Head to the Ditmar-Koel-Straße in the Neustadt district to enjoy these custard treats.

pasteis de nata

Next we made our way to the Pakhuis district. This area consist of a series of warehouses that was built in between 1883 and 1927. This area is now a UNESCO world Heritage site.

pakhuis district

Pass a corner of the warehouses you will be greeted by the Elbphilharmonie. This fabulous modern Philharmonic theatre has become a prominent feature of the Hamburg skyline. The design concept was based on water/waves and is totally worth a visit. Did I mention entry is free? Go up to the view deck for an incredible view over the city.

Elbphilharmonie

Next we made our way to the Rathaus in Altstad. Apart from being an amazing peace of old Hamburg, it actually has a superb restaurant open to public.

Rathaus Hamburg

Rathaus Restaurant

Next off we went to a market that they set up under the train tracks. Here you can find from a hot cup of coffee and fresh produce to crafts and antiquities. The food stalls are worth a try.

img_2979

One last tip from me when in Hamburg. GET CURRY WURST. Don’t ask, just trust me on this one. You will not be disappointed.

img_3012

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑